Visitors Reviews/Letters 

Please note:

NO CHARGE for Showers and hot water


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 
Reviewer: Alihari


Everything it said it was going to be. Good position for wonderful beaches and walks. Private and secluded site, very peaceful. Anna and Miles are extremely hospitable and clearly care about you enjoying your stay and nothing appeared to be of any trouble.

We will return and will take you up on your offer of an itinerary thank you Anna! Thank you Miles for your suggestions today. We did manage to find some wonderful dog friendly beaches with a cafe or bar just like being in the med with med like weather. Planned to stay for 2 nights and did extend to 5.

The sites is spotless too, from shiny sinks, to clean dog bin! Not the average dustbins either so never over flowing, they are also out the way so you don't get the noise of items being placed in them.

Water tap on pitches so again minimum noise/free of water containers be rolled around site. We were allocated a pitch on arrival no 17 which was in the sun most of the day and the evening. Our dogs enjoyed letting off steam on the dog field which again was beautifully kept. Was slightly nervous about the rules but need not have been as it did not feel regimented in the slightest.


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Lavender and Lime

This is a site which we love to visit on a regular basis. 

The site is always clean, tidy and well maintained. The facilities are good to use with the owners checking them regularly to maintain a high standard of cleanliness. In the dishwashing area there is plenty of room to work in. In addition there is a kettle and microwave and 2 fridges and freezers which again are checked by the owners. 

The owners have great pride and commitment in their site. They have a good knowledge of the local area and are happy to offer advice and suggestions about places to visit and things to do. 

Best of all is the amazing view from the site, you have to see it to believe it but shhh don't tell everyone! H and A

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating: 
Reviewer: BobJan

What a wonderful holiday we had at The Willows. The owners could not do enough to help us have a great time. They gave advice about where to go and enjoy the countryside by bike and foot. How brilliant! We came away so relaxed and happy. We can not fault this site! 

The views across the bay are absolutely stunning and you are within easy reach of Abersoch but without all the bustle!

It is a superb, quiet site with amazing facilities. The clever posters around the site encourage everyone to keep things immaculate - so all the guest play their part in keeping it special. The fantastic dog walking field is a huge bonus. 

Thank you for keeping it traditional and making sure all the guests are not packed in like sardines.


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating: 
Reviewer: Angry man

We have visited this site twice already this year and are heading back later today. It is a fabulous 5* site where you are able to go and relax with your pet's, as we have more than the average 2/3 dogs we find it difficult to find sites that will accept all of us. The owners have been very welcoming and friendly and greet us in both English and Welsh they have put together lot's of local information but are happy to help with any additional information you want. 

We would recommend this site to everyone as although it is quiet and relaxing there's plenty of things to do nearby.


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating: 
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter

Wow, booked this site at the last minuet. So lucky to get a pitch on this very beautiful site. 

The site is very well maintained, the pitches are extremely spacious. One of the best things about this site is that the owners have thought carefully about their pitches, whilst more could be added it's nice that they have chosen not to and thus allowing fewer pitches gives a lovely open feel to the site. The Willows campsite is very relaxing and quiet. 

The shower/toilet and washing up facilities are 5* immaculately clean with the added benefit of some of the best views I've seen from a campsite. 

The dog exercise field is spacious enough for a good game of ball. The children's playing area is next to the dog field, goal post and a swing ball are provided. No need for anything more as this area is packed with things to do and plentiful beaches to choose from, Abersoch is within walking distance. 

The owners are very friendly and have boundless knowledge of the area. 

Local walks are plentiful although some paths are not very well maintained which made some of our walks a bit of a puzzle, but you cannot get lost. 

The many beaches of the area are all amazing with great scenery, most are dog friendly which is a great bonus for us. Nearby Llanbedrog beach has a large car park ( ideal for our Motorhome)its run by the national trust. £3. 00 all day. There are beach huts available for hire, daily or weekly, which are beautifully maintained and add to the attraction of the beach. There is also a Bistro on the beach, which was highly recommended by another couple staying on the campsite. 

Abersoch is a really lovely destination, numerous places to eat out, and lovely individual shops. No supermarket just a small Londis grocery shop. We tend to take all our meals with us, but we did have lunch in Abersoch at the lovely little Deli, fantastic fresh baguettes filled to the brim. 

Families will have no problem in finding something to do every day in this lovely area of Wales, come rain or shine. 

All in all one of the loveliest campsites we have stayed on. With owners on site who are never intrusive but on hand to give any advice on where to walk, and which beaches allow dogs on all year round. We have fallen in love with the Llyn Peninsula and surrounding areas.

Thank you for our lovely stay at your wonderful campsite.  

We hope to return next year as there is still so much to see and do.

Many thanks again.

Samantha, Hayley and Melissa Orme


Dear Anna & Miles,

When we left on Sunday before the office was open so we didn't get the opportunity to thank you for a great stay at The Willows nor did we get the opportunity to say bore da, which we had been practising. We found the local Post Office do a cash back service with no purchases required. It might help those who are there for walking rather than driving. Once again thank you for a really enjoyable stay and the part that you both played in it. We will be back. Best regards and noswaith da!

Martin & Dianne


      

Just wanted to say that we loved your campsite and had a great weekend.  
 
We usually camp each year in the Lake District and this was my first camping experience in Abersoch and it was just great. Your site is one of the best we have stayed at and the facilities are lovely and well thought out. We had our two new 3 month old pups with us and it was their first experience of camping and the fact the tents were not crammed in next to each other and having a separate adult field really helped.

We have been recommending the site to lots of friends and I hope we will also re-visit ourselves sometime next year.

Many thanks

Kind regards

Jane 

June 2014
 
The Willows has ruined us for other sites. Beautiful setting; five star facilities; and Anna and Miles are so hospitable and knowledgeable of the area. Close access to Abersoch & the whole of the Llyn Peninsula for sight seeing. Fantastic beaches, walking & cycling. The Willows is quiet, beautuful and peaceful. We highly recommend this site.


eye-pod  

highly recommend 

Written by Helen on May 18th, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Eye-Pod and it was fantastic. First of all we checked in at the reception and the owners were so lovely and very helpful. We drove the car to the Eye-Pod and the site was immaculately kept, we noticed that all the tents had an excellent sized pitch, plenty of room between tents and amazing views. So we arrive at the Eye-Pod and once inside it was amazing, the pictures on the website did not do it justice. TV, fridge, kettle and plenty of plug sockets and storage. It felt so light and airy  with two porthole windows which opened and a large star gazing window in the ceiling which has a clever cover so the sunlight doesn't disturb you in the morning. We were lucky to have a clear night sky and lying in bed looking at the starry sky was wonderful ...so relaxing. We found it got quite chilly in abersoch in the evening but not in the Eye-Pod, all cosy and warm but if we had felt cold, no worries as there was a heater inside we could have used. Picnic bench outside was great as we had a BBQ in the evening. The toilet block was the cleanest I've come across .This was the perfect break for us, no tent to set up, just arrived and settled straight in. The owner came around on our first night to make sure we were happy and we were, it was so quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend a stay in the Eye-Pod , it's a unique experience and we will definitely be booking again 10/10.

highly recommend

Written by Pablodance on March 26th, 2014

Visited this campsite in our campervan this weekend.  The view from the pitch was stunning, really nice spot!Nice, clean facilities all really well presented with a nice quaint style to them.
Location - nice and quiet.  Close enough to everything you need and also far enough away to be peaceful.
Lovely helpful owners.
The pods looked very nice also.
Highly recommend!

Sent: Fri, 9 May 2014 9:46
Subject: Re: The Willows Abersoch Booking confirmed

Hello again,

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your site. As we said to you while we were there, it is easily the best site we have stayed on, and the thoughtful way you had planned the whole site as well as the rules regarding noise were very much appreciated, as were the large pitches and wonderful views. Thank you very much, and we look forward to visiting you again.

Lisa, Tracy and Cadan (and Annette and Alfie).

Sent: Wed, 30 Apr 2014 18:08
Subject: Eye-Pod

Hi there! Thought I simply must write to say what a super time I had recently at The Willows. It was spotless! It was idyllic!  And I was privileged to be one of your first guests to stay in your  Eye-Pod. What a fantastic achievement,  in designing and building this superb construction. To be able to lie in bed and see the stars,  being snug and warm was such a delight.
I did have a nosey peek at the Hobbits whilst there, but the Eye-Pod takes the biscuit in being so much larger, so pleased I chose what I did.
Well done to you both, I'm sure the Eye-Pod will be a 'sell out'.
Regards
Angela Roberts




Sent from Samsung tablet

Sent: Mon, 21 Apr 2014 18:19
Subject: Re: Camping tomorrow

Hello. I just wanted to say thank you very much for a wonderful weekend. 
We thought your campsite is wonderful amd we had such a peaceful relaxing stay. 
We hope to see you soon. 

Gemma x


Sent from Samsung Mobile

Visited this campsite in our campervan this weekend.  The view from the pitch was stunning, really nice spot!Nice, clean facilities all really well presented with a nice quaint style to them.

Location - nice and quiet.  Close enough to everything you need and also far enough away to be peaceful.

Lovely helpful owners.

The pods looked very nice also.

Highly recommend!


Excellent campsite. Just got back and have booked to go again. The site is immaculate with every facility you require but exactly as described intimate and non corporate. The local produce available to buy at reception was excellent. The pitches were a great size which even when busy I'm sure will not feel crowded. Looking forward to our next trip!



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 
Reviewer: Suzanne Foster

A lovely site. Facilities immaculate and modern; even lockers to charge mobile phones and laptops. 

Pitches rather close together but all arranged around the edge of a small field with a pretty garden in the centre. Unfortunately not fully serviced as advertised on this website, no water on pitch but there is grey waste, electric and tv point. 

Very quiet site with a number of rules which the owners insist are adhered to. That suited us and judging by the number of seasonal pitches it is welcomed by the majority. 

Children are not allowed to play games around the caravans and tents and dogs have to be tethered or on a lead except on the dog exercise field. There is a field for children to play on. This meant we could sit outside the caravan, enjoy the sunshine without being attacked by stray balls or dogs! Our dog enjoyed meeting other dogs in the field. 

The site is very convenient for a number of beaches. Most are dog friendly. Beautiful coastal path walks. 

Good local pub with well cooked food ; also good restaurant on beach. 

We found people very friendly and helpful in the area. 

Although on the pricey side we will return to this lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 
Reviewer: Squiffy1

This is definitely one of the best sites we have visited. We are a fit and active couple in our early sixties. 

We were lucky enough to visit during a spell of gorgeous weather but I don't think much could detract from the quality of the site. 

Arrival is via a narrowish lane but there are only a few residences at one end and arrival and departure times are well staggered. Check-in was easy with a £10 deposit needed for the electronic barrier entry key. We had booked a hard standing which had waste water drainage and was very level. The grass pitches looked pretty level too. Miles checked that we were able to reverse the van and we saw him helping others onto their pitches. Anna popped down to check everything was fine once we were set up. She offered to lend us extra pipes for the drains if we needed them. The pitches were of adequate size and arranged around the outside of the field, meaning that we didn't feel 'surrounded'. 

The toilet block was excellent, spotlessly clean, dual flush toilets, plenty of hot water, hair dryers, motion sensor lighting. There was heating in there as well for colder seasons. The view outside the block was to die for! It made us wish we were in the camping field as it shared the view - down across Pwllheli and Criccieth to Snowdonia. 

Laundry room, mobile phone charging points, dish washing facilities, well-stocked info hut, fridge and freezer for campers, children's play area, dog exercise field were all provided. Unfortunately Gwynedd CC don't offer a recycling collection but that's not the owners fault. 

We were blown away by the beauty of the area. We last visited in our teens but had missed the beautiful beaches, harbours, mountains and quirky little towns - well we were 'teenagers in love' at the time. I know we saw it at its best but we will certainly be back. Well done and keep up the good work

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 
Reviewer: Happy Tourers

WOW what can we say! Loved this site and the owners. It is exactly as stated a lovely clean welcoming 5 star site. Facilities were superb! Toilets and showers were immaculate. All the facilities and the owners were excellent and cannot wait to get back here! The only downside is you need to travel by car to get anywhere (no footpaths or pavements). The owners are very helpful with directions and the dog field is a very nice extra. All in all a lovely place. Children are not allowed to play near the camping areas which was excellent and they have a field of their own.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Lavender and Lime

This site is quiet, well maintained and organised. The owners are always very helpful, friendly and able to offer advice about things to do and see based on a very good local knowledge. Each pitch has plenty of space and the overall feel of the site is always calm and peaceful meaning you can fully enjoy the stunning views. The facilities are always clean and regularly checked by the owners. The extra facilities like the fridge, freezer, tv, phone charger work well. There is a separate playing field and dog walking so other campers are not disturbed. The situation of the site means that you can readily explore the peninsula. There is a bus stop at the end of the road and many footpaths you can take. 

If you enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday in a stunning area just waiting to be explored then this site is well worth visiting.

 


Date of Visit: June 2013Unit:  tent
Hi

Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our stay at your lovely campsite. We will definitely be back.

Thanks again, Martin, Zoe, Ruby and Bobby (Bond)

by email 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Hobbit

Howdy Miles and Anna,

I wanted to just take a minute out to say a huge thank you for your hospitality over the last 3 days, your high standards and attention to detail are remarkable and this made our stay truly memorable.

The tranquillity of your site with its breathtaking views has ensured we will be calling in to see you again and again; this was our second visit with hopefully many more to come. Ethan and Issi have fallen in love with the ‘hobbit’, they really enjoyed it, brilliant!!

And although we only stayed for 3 nights the children made plenty of friends, including Megan, the whole site has a great ambience about it and all the campers I spoke with were very complimentary about the site.

We really did get the weather and spent some time on the local beaches, which, on reflection were that good we could have been anywhere exotic on the globe, truly inspirational, as we saw Dolphins (wow) and I even managed to do a barbecue on the beach!! ‘whistling sands and Nant-y-big’ are beautiful.

Your personable manner and concern for our well being I have seldom experienced in some top hotels, let alone a quaint little campsite, haha!! Again this is what made it so special for the Children and once again I would like to say a huge ‘thank you’ and wish you all the best for the future.

Cheers and hope to see you very soon.

Darren, Ethan & Issi

by email 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tourer
Reviewer: Atherton


Simply the Best - better than all the rest! Thank you for looking aftyer us so well, you really do provide a six star service.

Ali, Dave and Bradley the dog!

by email 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motor Home
Reviewer: Anglesey campsite owner


Never mind top 100 definitely top 10 for us, we visited last Thursday in Dora (the explorer) our (heavy) campervan! Many thanks for an excellent welcome and two day stay at your first class site. You have really thought of everything and have amazing views of Abersoch beach and Snowdonia.

So impressed with your beautiful site. As I said to Anna, we have a small touring site on our working farm here on Anglesey and now can see lots of areas we can improve....
 
Many thanks again for our stay on your beautiful site, we hope to visit again one day.

by email


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating: 
Reviewer: Rastafaery

Wow a fantastic site, fantastic facilities, fantastic location and fantastic greeting from the owners who have obviously worked so hard to create such an exclusive and luxury caravan park, all of these things made our stay so perfect, although we could have done with just a few more days of sunshine! 

We thought the new toilet and shower block well thought out and the information chalet a good idea. Local shop which we could walk to for the little things we needed was good and Abersoch is a nice little town with a few good restaurants, thanks again, we will be back
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Slubber

We booked this site for three nights over the August bank holiday. What a wonderful site it is, well deserving of its five stars. 

It's a small site, and absolutely immaculate. The tent field we stayed in was flat and each pitch area is large and well marked out. Views across the bay to snowdownia are stunning. 

The toilet block was without a doubt the nicest and cleanest I have stayed in in the UK. I wish other campsite owners could come and see how it can be done properly. An absolute pleasure to go for a shower here with mops provided to keep the area how you found it, as everyone did. Was so pleased to see a little step has been provided at the sink area to enable children to access the taps and soap dispenser. It's little touches like this that make a good site into a great one. 

Pot wash area also very clean (according to my husband). 

Large play field available for the children to run around on, and as the site is private with a barrier we had no worries letting the children (7 and 8) head off to play here unsupervised. 

Very, very quiet in the evenings and overnight which suits us. 

Site owner was extremely helpful and welcoming and even provided us with spare pegs as we had left the groundsheet peg bag at home. 

We will definitely return.
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: IRISHDAVE

Had a great time at this campsite. Nice open pitches with plenty of room. 

Very clean shower block and handy phone charging unit, £1 a go. 

Miles was great craic and very helpful, will definitely be back again next year. 

The site is a 10 minute drive from Abersoch and Hell's mouth beaches. 

Site also has secure entry which gives you peace of mind and a cracking big field with football goals for the kids to run about in. 

Site was quiet after 11 which suited us as we had our 4 year old with us.
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating: 
Reviewer: Piffy57

Just returned back from a fabulous week at ‘The Willows’ probably one of the best sites in the country. 

We had a good drive down from Lancashire and if you follow the instructions you will find it without any problem at all. 

It’s a site designed with care. 

The main caravan field is grass based with hard standings for caravans. Plenty of room to manoeuvre the caravan in as it been designed to give visitors a site without feeling cramped in like pre-war back to back terraced houses!

Electric and a TV point are laid on and the fresh water pitch is only a few metres away from every caravan. 

There is a field for children to play on and a dog walk field too with a bin. 

There is a wooden cabin to wash dishes and the toilet/shower block is very smart and feels clean at all times. 

Llanbedrog beach is five mins drive away and you can park at the National Trust Car Park. There is a restaurant on the beach too serving excellent food and also ice cream. 

Shopping wise Abersoch is not the best but it’s not geared up as Blackpool etc (thank goodness). Some of the shops in nearby Phwelli could do with customer service training their staff…. I might be a tourist but I spend money which helps their economy!

All in all it was a lovely week away and would I visit the Willows again? Most definitely and would also recommend it to fellow caravanners.
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan

 

Rating: 

Reviewer: Millsy2012

 

 


Well where do you start. What a fantastic site, views to die for. When you first arrive there your first impression is Wow! The signs are clear and concise. Miles in reception is very helpful. 

With being a small campervan you are allocated a specific pitch. The great point is that Anna and Miles have thought of every detail. They have large wooden chocks for levelling up, once again the view was gorgeous.

Shower block as is in webpage, large, spotless and clean. There detail is second to none, buckets and mops and large squeegee for cleaning the floor after showering, as you would at home. 

Dishwashing area very well laid out with fridge, kettle and microwave. Anna never stops working around her site. That is why the site is so impressive. 

The pitch sizes are massive and I mean massive, so you don't feel crowded. If they could give 6*s this site deserves it. Well Done, we will be back. The price, you get what you pay for. Simples eek!

ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Paul + Tre

A beautiful site. The views across the bay are spectacular. Each pitch is carefully managed and there is plenty of room. We went over the Easter weekend, the weather wasn't brilliant but the area around the pitches did not become a muddy patch. The fields are well kept. The facilities are excellent and the owners lovely. If you want a peaceful well kept site with beautiful views then the willows is for you. There are lovely walks from the campsite. Restaurants in nearby Abersoch were fully booked over the Easter weekend so on busy weekends book in plenty of time, we did manage to have a beautiful meal at the Dining room, the service and ambience was perfect. We also used the chip shop in Abersoch on a few occasions. The burgers sold at the campsite were delicious.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating: 
Reviewer: Seanfred

We took a VW Camper on our first trip and The Willows was our first campsite. We were not disappointed. 

We began in the aftermath of Hurricane Katia and were given a sheltered pitch a stones throw from a spotless shower block and dishwashing facility with solar ground lights lighting the path. 

Our breakfasts were taken admiring amazing views. We would highly recommend this small friendly site where the business of making your holiday relaxing. 

With lots of local information displayed, local produce available to buy and a good pub within walking distance. 

An amazing fish restaurant a short taxi (Taxi driver was very friendly too) ride away
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Gj02

This was our first camping holiday as a family, and we were not let down. 

The Willows is now the benchmark for all our future camping trips. 

The site is very clean and very modern looking, fully lit with solar lights down paths, water for drinking from a tap on the field, bins, bricks to lift disposable BBQ's, an area with 3 or 4 sinks to wash cups plates etc and the shower / toilet block ! WoW, This is what makes camping more enjoyable, HOT water, 4 shower units ( in the mens, don't know about ladies ) with sinks and toilet facilities. Just what you need after a full day on the beach. 

Anna and Miles really have quite the setup here, the views are amazing of the mountains in the distance and the sea close by. 

The Willows was such a nice place to stay, Miles saw that myself and wife struggling with erecting the tent and came over and helped us set it up. 

All in all this had to be one of my nicest holidays due to it being our first camping trip, my boy loving the whole camping experience, the weather be so sunny, and Anna and Miles making us feel welcome and providing such an amazing service.
ukcampsites.co.uk 

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating: 
Reviewer: Mark Dwyer

After much searching & phone calls we chose The Willows due to the very friendly welcome that we received over the telephone & via emails and this was carried through to our arrival & throughout our 5 night stay. Anna & Miles where always there to offer a helping hand or advice/guidance without being obtrusive or interfering. The site was immaculate with flat pitches for our tent & stunning views. The owners space the tents out with plenty of room in between pitches so you didn't feel cramped or claustrophobic at all. We took our puppy with us and having a separate dog field for her to run around in was an additional benefit & very much appreciated. The facilities where immaculate as where the surroundings & I would have NO hesitation in recommending this site to anyone thinking of camping in North Wales. The Willows truly deserves its 5* rating and a return trip is definitely on the cards.

ukcampsites.co.uk 

5
16 Sep 2011: philandjoy from Herefordshire reviewed Yr Helyg (The Willows)

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at 'The Willows' in our Cabanon Tent, of which the friendly owners Anna and Miles helped keep upright in an unexpected and very rare hurricane sent to us from America!!
The facilities and location are outstanding and the unbelievable views have to make it the 'Eighth Wonder of the World.'

: September in 2011
5
23 Aug 2011: suscart from Cheshire reviewed Yr Helyg (The Willows)

This is by far the best camp site we have ever stayed at. Breathtaking views, owners very friendly making you feel very welcome. Extremely clean with fantasic facilities, best shower block EVER will definately be going back.

: August in 2011
5
20 Aug 2011: WheelWizard from Manchester UK reviewed Yr Helyg (The Willows)

Simply had to leave a review for our second successive year at The Willows... Miles and Anna couldn't do enough for us during our stay, even helping put our awning up in the rain!! The site is immaculate, the showers are the best we have seen and always clean, and the views of Cardigan bay and the Llyen are unbelievable (took a picture every time I went to the shower!!) got lots lol.. see you next year!!

: August in 2011

5
15 Jul 2011: Janeandgreg from Merseyside reviewed Yr Helyg (The Willows)

Have just returned from The Willows. Echo all previous comments and reviews. Fantastic location , breathtaking scenery , very friendly owners who are rightly proud of The Willows. The tranquility is fundamental to the success of the place. The toilet facilities and showers are devine and very clean. I cannot recommend this site enough ( we camped in a tent).

: July in 2011
5
8 Sep 2010: harryandles from west mids reviewedYr Helyg (The Willows)

wonderful people very helpful facilities showers and toilets as good as you will find in any hotel they also had fridge and freezers which where very useful. the site was very clean and well kept . will definately return . full marks all round

: August in 2010

5
12 Aug 2010: tracyw1967 from lancashire reviewed Yr Helyg (The Willows)

This campsite is fabulous. The owners Anna and Miles have created the perfect combination of chilled out with a clean, well run and quiet site. We stayed for 9 nights and found their hospitality brilliant. Great facilities with superb shower block, dishwash area and information summerhouse. Fantastic views over the Lleyn Peninsula, and I mean FANTASTIC.

: August in 2010

Reviewer: Searchlighters Date of Visit: June 2011  Unit:  Touring Caravan

We have just returned from a week at The Willows which was nothing short of stunning - helped, admittedly, by some glorious weather! The site describes itself as 'Refined, Charming, Timeless' and that just about sums it up.

The main caravan field has 21 pitches arranged around the outside of the field which is immaculately maintained by the incredibly helpful owners. Very, very peaceful.

Possibly not suited to families with lots of young children as no play equipment or icecreams. But that rather suits us. There is a play field for ball games etc.

There are three tent fields, one of which has the most amazing views I have seen anywhere - fabulous.

The facilities are excellent - new and exceptionally clean. There is a lovely washing up 'lodge' with stunning views and a fab information centre.

There is not an on site shop but you can buy bacon, hens and duck eggs, burgers and a variety of sausages (all delicious) from the owners. There is a Londis and Post Office selling groceries a short distance from the site.

Highly recommended - we booked for next year before we left.

ukcampsites.co.uk July 2011


Reviewer: 
UMLS     Date of Visit: May 2011  Unit:  Other

I stayed at The Willows during May 2011 with my wife and our 2 year old boy. We stayed in one of the new 'Hobbits' which was a charming and cosy cabin.

Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome from Anna who provided us with all the information we needed for our stay. Anna and Miles really take pride in their campsite and they ought to be very proud of what they have achieved: the toilet block is immaculate and wouldn't look out of place in a swanky hotel, whilst the grounds are beautifully maintained. The washing up block was great too, with fabulous views overlooking the bay.

Life inside a Hobbit is very cosy indeed. Despite the cold and (very) windy weather, we remained extremely comfortable and didn't need to use the heater - despite daytime temperatures not getting above about 12 degrees for the duration of our stay.

Cooking is not allowed inside the Hobbit, so if you're planning a trip, be warned - you will be spending a lot of time cooking and eating outside. We took a tarp, a windbreak, a kitchen stand and a couple of gas stoves which did the job nicely.

What could make this site better? A play area for children would have been fantastic and made it a little easier to keep our son entertained. Other than that, the site is perfect - a tranquil paradise with beautiful scenery and very welcoming and helpful owners.

ukcampsites.co.uk July 2011


Reviewer: 
JohntheT25   Date of Visit: April 2011  Unit:  Campervan

Stayed at The Willows for two nights in the lovely hot and dry April

Received a warm and friendly reception from Miles. He showed us to our pitch which was a grass pitch with a hook up. The pitch was on a slope but this didn't matter as we were provided with large sloped railway sleepers (or similar) to ramp our van onto making it perfectly flat!

The grass - wow - I've seen bowling greens that would be envious. Don't think I've ever seen grass as short or perfectly mown!

The view was amazing of the mountains and the sea with a lovely sunrise each morning. It was breezy, so take a wind break if you have one. I think it would have been less breezy in one of the other 2 fields but this didn't bother us.

The facilities - the toilets and showers were spotless and wouldn't have looked out of place in a hotel, lovely and warm and not a long distance from any pitch. The washing up area was good with a fridge for use by all. This did appear to be quite full but we didn't need to use it ourselves.

We took our dog with us who was welcome and remained tethered. The dog walking field is fairly large and useful for first thing / last thing walks.

We walked into Abersoch, going the 'road way' on the way down - took about an hour. Abersoch is lovely with access to the beach. Our dog could go on as it wasn't yet May. I'm not sure of the restrictions after May. Walked back following various footpaths using an OS map, took about 35-40 minutes (and was much more pleasant).

Would recommend to friends/family.

We walked into Abersoch,

ukcampsites.co.uk July 2011


Reviewer: SurfBlue   Date of Visit: April 2011  Unit:  Campervan

Enjoyed a four night stay here for the first time during the barmy warm Spring weather. Initially we 'glamped' in one of the new 'Hobbits' as no electric hook up pitches were available which was a hoot then moved on to a very spacious pitch with our campervan.

I think it's all been said really about Miles, Anna and their beautifully kept site. No it's not cheap but if you don't want keeping up all night by teenagers and you want pristinely mowed spacious pitches with hotel standard showers and wash facilities it's money well spent.

You can brew up in the washing up room, there's a microwave which is handy and refrigerate or freeze your food so in the end I didn't need an electric hook up.

Great location for visiting Abersoch and it's beaches, great for walking, the only improvement that I could possibly see would maybe be some kids play equipment in the playing field.

We'll be back !

ukcampsites.co.uk July 2011


Reviewer: Beachbuscamper    Date of Visit: April 2011  Unit:  Campervan

Just returned from a great holiday in Wales with fantastic weather. This was the 2nd site we stayed at during our 10 days tour and I wish we had saved it til last as no other site can compare to this one facilities-wise.

The toilet block was luxurious and warm, the dish washing block was really cute, clean and had the most amazing views you could hope for whilst washing up.

There was a great little info shed which gave directions, walks, menus of local eateries and doggy advice (much appreciated). Although there is no shop on site they do sell some local produce which would be great for a barbie.

There is a large field for dog exercising which I believe is also to be a play area too [two areas, fenced]. I really appreciated the fact that the owners do warn dog owners about the local neighbouring farmers having guns - we have been to many sites in the western isles where there are sheep nearby but there is no info regarding dog exercise areas and local gun-toting farmers.

We toured around the area and enjoyed a coastal walk and a tour of beaches. We also had a lovely meal at The Ship.

Anna and Miles were extremely friendly, laid back, and most importantly, seemed to take pride in the site and genuinely enjoy dealing with people.

Value for money? absolutely! This is the most expensive campsite we have ever used and it was worth every penny - I wouldn't actually say it is overpriced, I would say that you get what you pay for (and more).

Cant wait to return!

ukcampsites.co.uk April 2011


Reviewer: Steveclecy   Date of Visit: March 2011  Unit:  Motorhome

Arrived late afternoon to warm welcome from site owner. Yes, the 5 stars in the title really does reflect the quality, clearly aimed at the exclusive market. Offered the use of a TV aerial hook up lead but not required as digital signal was fine.

I am sure the views were wonderful but unfortunately a heavy mist spoiled that. Toilet and shower block would not shame a boutique hotel. Showers hot as you wanted. Perhaps the washing up water could have been warmer [Faulty Thermostat, new one has now been fitted] but a kettle was available to top up the temperature.

Very quiet area, nearest shop a bit of a walk [approx 400 metre], as was nearest pub/restaurant. Narrow approach road but entrance wide enough for even a large unit. No hesitation in recommending.

ukcampsites.co.uk April 2011 


Reviewer: HappycamperD+L    Date of Visit: March 2011  Unit:  Hobbit

We stayed in the willows new attraction called (hobbits) they have two of these, and are much the same as camping pods, they are beautiful inside and outside,very warm and cosy. We stayed the 12th of march for the weekend and the weather was horrible but we had a great time. The site is one of the best we have stayed in (we do a lot of glamping as well as camping) and have travelled the country looking for those great sites you always want to go back to. This is one of them.

The family who run the site are great (friendly) as well as the couple who help run the site, nothing is too much trouble for them. The shower and toilet facilities are amazing, you almost feel bad for using them they are that clean. Real hand soap and real loo rolls all supplied. The facilities to wash up those dishes are indoors too, with fridge & freezers for your food and supplied ice packs for your ice box. There is a microwave avail (you need 20p's) for this. They have a small summerhouse which has a freeview TV in so you won't miss you soaps ladies.

This is a truly exceptional site, and the views are wonderful, you can see MT Snowdon on a clear day. Lovely people, lovely staff, lovely site, you wont be sorry you booked
 
ukcampsites.co.uk March 2011

Reviewer: 
Surfsupvw Date of Visit: August 2010  Unit:  Campervan

Once again a wonderful holiday. Every thing you could wish for. Shower block amazing always spotlessly clean and endless hot water. Dishwashing facilities top class.

A beautifully positioned camp site with every thing you need for a truly relaxing holiday. Very peaceful site with stunning views and very helpful and charming owners. Miles and Anna always on hand but very unobtrusive,very helpful to novices and experienced campers alike.

We had a campervan with electric hook up and a rather large tent.We were made to feel very welcome and knew they would do every thing they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

They have created a beautiful,quiet and very clean site in an area of outstanding natural beauty

Has a good local shop very quick walk and surrounded by breath taking views and outstanding beaches.

This was our third stay and cannot wait to return.
 
ukcampsites.co.uk Dec 2010

Reviewer: Bri+jan ash     Date of Visit: September 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Spent 10 days here and could not fault it. Anna & Miles are very welcoming and helpful. The facilities are second to none.

Shower blocks are superb with plenty of hot water and ample toilets/showers and wash basins.

The washing up facilities are good again with plenty of hot water and everything is kept very clean and tidy. Large bins for all the rubbish and plenty of water points. You are also given a cable to boost your TV reception, however we found we did not need it, freeview had the best signal we have found anywhere.

The access for caravans is great with plenty of room to manouver into your space and you have room for awing and car on each pitch.

The dog facilities are brilliant a large field that is mown with plenty of room to let the dogs have a good run and play.

The views are amazing from the site and there is a summerhouse which has a lot of local information/leaftlets inside. Anna & Miles are always very helpful with any questions.

There is a small shop in the village and Llanbedroch has a Londis supermarket. There are plenty of shops/supermarkets etc within a short drive.

There are plenty of walks which can be started from the site and lots of beaches and coves to explore within a short drive. We went blackberry picking in the lanes by the campsite, very tasty especially with apples & crumble!

We highly recommend this site and will definitely be back for another visit, its a lovely site in a great part of Wales with welcoming hosts.
 
ukcampsites.co.uk Nov 2010

Hi Anna & Miles
 
Unit - Campervan
Month - October
Nights - 2
 
Arrived on a Saturday teatime and were met by Miles who showed us to our pitch and helped us "level up" the van.  The first thing that struck us were the fantastic views from our pitch; absolutely stunning!
 
There were another couple pitched up and could see that a couple of the touring caravans were occupied, which meant there weren't that many on the site......however ALL of the facilities were open to us and the shower / toilet block had exceptional facilities, from heated towel rail to piping hot power showers.  These facilities were always spotlessly clean and lovely and warm too.
 
The site is immaculate....obvious signs that Miles and Anna take great pride in their site.  Lawns / fields were well laid out and maintained to a high standard.  Even the exercise field for the dogs is tended to.
 
The summer house / chalet contained loads of useful information about the surrounding area and housed sample menus from a range of restaurants and pubs.  We visited the Ship Inn just down in the village and had a great pub meal.  It's a walkable distance; downhill all the way, but the dreaded walk back all the way up :-)
 
Llanbedrog beach is about a 5 min drive and is a beautiful beach; quieter than the main beaches in Abersoch.  Abersoch, depending on which route you take, is about 10 - 15 mins drive away, and houses a number of small boutique shops, a bank, post office, Londis, couple of pubs, fish and chip shop (best chips we've had) and a number of restuarants.
Hells Mouth beach, popular with surfers and body-boarders, is about 15 mins drive.
 
As the site is situated off the main road, you don't even hear the traffic, just the occasional car passing the lane at the side/back of the site.  It is an idyllic site and we were very reluctant to leave.....we will be back and will definately stay for a full week next time.
 
Thanks
Anne & Mark Strickland
VW Camper van 2-3 Oct 2010

Dear Anna and Miles

Just a short note to say 'thank you' for making our stay at your site so pleasurable despite a problematic start. As novices with the camper van your help and advice was invaluable and your kindness when we experienced mechanical problems was much appreciated - made us feel so much better!   'Yr Helyg, The Willows' is a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, well maintained and spotlessly clean, making the morning shower an absolute pleasure. However, your personal care and attention to your guests is what makes your site second to none in our experience - we hope to be back before too long!

Diolch am bopeth

Judith and Andrew Davies
VW Camper van, 13 - 17 Sep 2010



Dear Anna and Miles
 
We just wanted to let you know that our recent visit to the willows was a great success. Not only were we blessed with the weather BUT everything was topped off by the wonderful site that you are running. The facilities are exceptional and a great credit to you both.
Your help when we collapsed our awning was invaluable and our little Grandaughter loved playing with Megan.
We will be back and next time we will have a larger Motorhome and will not be squeezing ourselves into a very small space!
 
All the best
 
David and Christine Galloway
16th September 2010


Dear Miles & Anna,

We have been camping for many years and have stayed in acclaimed ,accredited, award winning etc etc sites, however we can safely say that your site has set a new bar height in every area.

From the moment we made our booking we felt completely confident in our selection and when we arrived after a long drive our welcome could not have been warmer.    

The entire site is kept immaculate and the attention to detail is a real credit to your both.  You made us feel so welcome and we could see how much pride you take. 

I can not continue without mentioning the toilet block, it would put many  4 star hotels to shame, modern, clean and well equipped. The views across the bay were stunning, I found myself lost in the views on the way back from the toilet block.

Without doubt this is not only the most wonderful site we have ever staying in, but the area has so much to offer for all.  I could not recommend this site enough to give it justice, just to say there is nothing else I have seen that comes close in 20 years of camping.

Thank you so much for making our weekend special and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you.

 Kind regards

 Lee, Sam Molly and Grace
 11th August 2010


Reviewer: Mike+judi   Date of Visit: August 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

We received a warm welcome from Anna who showed us to our grass pitch, there's loads of room to manoeuvre so reversing on was easy. Level pitches,well kept site with excellent facilities and views from the site. Local shop about 10 min walk away for basic daily needs (Papers and beer!). A summerhouse holds loads of information on the local area,eateries,etc.

We used the laundry once and found it met our needs.

The site is ideally situated for both Abersoch and Llanbedrog beach. There are some lovely walks from the site, especially up to the 'Jam Pot' a derelict windmill.

We enjoyed our stay so much we booked again for next year before leaving and cant wait to go back.

Dont forget to try the burgers,They're fantastic!

ukcampsites.co.uk August 2010

 


Reviewer: ARCHIEMILLIE Date of Visit: August 2010  Unit:  Campervan

Just returned from a ten night visit with wife and two young children and none of us wanted to leave. An exceptionally well run site with fantastic views. New bathroom facilities are first class and the best we've seen on any site.

We loved the local area and the beaches in particular. Abersoch is a lovely place with great pubs, cafes and restaurants although they can be very busy.

We will return to the area and the site without any doubt at all and would have stayed longer if work hadn't prevented it.

Not the cheapest site we've stayed on but worth paying the extra.

 

ukcampsites.co.uk August 2010

Reviewer: Jameshall    Date of Visit: May 2010  Unit:  Tent

This was our first visit to 'the willows' and we will certainly be back, in fact we have booked two more weekends already.

We go camping a lot in the Peak District but I have to say this is the nicest site we have ever been lucky enough to stay at. The facilities are immaculate, the views stunning and the owners very helpful. There is a brand new toilet and shower block that puts other sites to shame.

The views from the site are stunning and the local, well stocked, provided all the ingredients for Sunday breakfast.

Admittedly, we did go on a beautiful sunny weekend but this site is just first class.

If it was possible to give 11 out of 10 this site would get it. I hope that if it gets busier people respect the facilities and keep the site as nice as it is now!

ukcampsites.co.uk 26th May 2010


Hi Anna and Miles

Thought I would just drop you a line to say thank you for your hospitality and what a pleasure it was to stay on such a well cared for site.  Your skill, hard work and passion certainly show and the site is a credit to you both.
We wish you a happy, succesful and carefree season

Sent with best regards
Kate and Joe Coxon
 
24th May 2010

Dear Miles and Anna

Just really wanted to drop you a quick line to say a big thank you for your hospitality this last weekend. As complete (and very uncertain!) caravan novices, you have shown us how you don't need to forego creature comforts when staying in a caravan: the shower blocks (super-clean and super-hot water) are better than we could ever have hoped for; the pitches are quiet and spacious, and facilities such as a complimentary freezer an additional "plus". The fact that you care so very much about what you provide is clear at every turn, and what you have created is a real credit to you.

So, we won't be selling the caravan just yet!!

Cath & Phil CRONE, Chester

4th may 2010


Dear Anna and Miles
 
We have just returned from a fantastic 3 nights stay at your beautiful campsite.
 
We were originally supposed to be flying to Thailand but fell victim to the volcanic eruption and decided we would pack the tent and make the most of the fantastic weather predicted.
 
Just wanted to let you know we had such a wonderful and relaxing stay and couldn't get over what a fantastic site you run, bright and absolutely spotless and the perfect location to exlore the Lleyn peninsular.
 
Thank you so much, we will definatly be back again.
 
Who needs Thailand anyway!?
 
Take care
 
Kenna and Greg x
21 April 2010


Dear Anna and Miles.

Arrived home a few hours ago after spending the Easter break on your 1st class caravan park. Both Ian and myself would like to say a very BIG thank you to you both on making us feel very welcome. We are quite new to caravaning but during our time visiting camp sites we must say that your site is the best we have stayed at, your new shower/toilet block is worth the journey from Congleton to Abersoch alone. We hope to be one of the lucky ones to get a chance to stay there again after checking our holiday schedule. We would recommend anyone to visit The Willows and be greeted by such a helpful and welcoming couple. Thanks again both for a lovely few days.

Best Wishes
Kim and Ian Corbishley 
5 April 2010


The best camping site on the Lleyn...

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By Scottydog - 26 Mar 2010

This site is just what you need to get away from the stress of everyday life. With a beautiful setting in the hills above Abersoch and stunning views over Cardigan Bay, The Willows is one of the quietest and most relaxing camp sites in the area. My wife and I have been coming to Abersoch for over 30 years and we have never found better. The site owners, Anna and Miles, couldn't be more helpful, and with a brand new 5 star toilet block built just this year, this is the place to visit whether you are camping or touring. We couldn't recommend the site highly enough. 5 star +++++ 

maps.google.com

Review by: Parahandy   Date of Visit: July 2009  Unit used: Tent

Took a mid week break here, the sites pleasantly located sufficiently out of Abersoch for peace and quiet but handy enough to explore Abersoch if you want.

The owners were a very genuine and friendly and welcoming to campers. They were helpful in giving local information there is also an information cabin on site which is a good source of reference for what's available in the area, places to eat etc.

The pitches were split between 3 grassed camping fields level and well spaced. The toilet block was adequate (20p for showers),I understand this is being upgraded in the near future laundry facilities are also available.

Although Admittedly mid week we were impressed just how quiet the site with the impression thankfully that rowdy behaviour isn't tolerated.

Access to the site is restricted by a barrier a refundable £10 deposit gets you an access card.

A good site that offers value for money.

Review by: Rickwill   Date of Visit: June 2009  Unit used: Tent

This has got to be close to my perfect camp site - spectacular location in rural setting just above Abersoch, with amazing sea views. It isn't cheap but there is a strict limit on pitches and occupancy, so you're not camped on top of somebody else. The pitches are well marked out. The washblocks and showers are perfectly adequate, although due to be redeveloped in the near future. Very friendly owners and all the facilities you can think of, including secure access, freezers, local produce, excellent tourist information. I visited with my brother, but this is an ideal site for families and we will be back soon. PS midgies bad at dusk so take some repellent - we found that Jungle Formula was very effective.

May 2008- Jodie Morgan
 
My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend, what a fantastic site, lovely and clean. We arrived at 1am in the morning after getting lost and I must say Anna and Miles were on call to give great directions!. Clean showers, and plenty of space to pitch our tent -with a lovely view of the open countryside, snowdonia and cardigan bay (lovely blue sea). We will definitely be back, friendly and welcoming site.
 
Thank you
Jodie & Laura